Facebook and other social media sites are brilliant ways to keep up with friends and share your thoughts, but there are still a few things you wouldn't want everyone to know or see.

For example, you may only want to share your pictures with certain people so random strangers can't stumble across your private snaps. The good news is Facebook has a large number of privacy settings to stop unwanted attention.

The Knowhow

Finding your privacy settings:

The privacy settings menu is at the top right of the Facebook screen, just to the right of your name and the Home button.

  • Sign in to Facebook
  • Click the "cog" icon
  • From the drop-down menu, select Privacy Settings

Basic privacy settings:

You can easily set a general privacy level for your account. This will effect who can see any of your content, including status updates, photos and anything else you post.

  • From the Privacy Settings menu, look for the Control Your Default Privacy section
  • Select from one of the three options:
    • Public: Everyone can see your content, whether they are on your friends list or not
    • Friends: Only people you've added as friends can see your content
    • Custom: Allows you to select specific groups of friends or people to see your content

Restricting access to images:

  • Go to your profile homepage or timeline
  • Click Photos
  • Select See All if all your albums are not displayed
  • Under each album, click the small "down" triangle
  • Select from the options who you want to be able to view the album

Creating and editing Friends Lists:

You can create specific lists of friends and give them access to your photos. Facebook contains three pre-set lists you can use:

  • Close Friends: By default, you receive more notifications from and give more access to people you add to your Close Friends list
  • Acquaintances: Adding someone to this list reduces the number of notifications you receive about them. You're also able to define "Friends except acquaintances" as a privacy option for things you post
  • Restricted: People added to this list only see information you post publicly or tag them in

Adding individual friends to a list:

  • Go to your friends' profile page or Timeline
  • Hover the mouse over the Friends icon at the top
  • A number of list options will appear. Click on the one you would like to add your friend to

Editing lists from your profile page or Timeline:

  • Click the Home button in the top right of Facebook
  • If Lists is not being displayed on the left hand side of the screen, click the More button
  • Click More to the right of Lists
  • Select the list you want to edit by clicking on it, or choose Create List
  • On the right hand side, click on the On this list box that says Add Friends To This List
  • Type in the names of any friends you want to add
  • Click Add next to their name

Removing friends from a list:

  • Click the Home button in the top right of Facebook
  • If Lists is not being displayed on the left hand side of the screen, click the More button
  • Click More to the right of Lists
  • Select the list you want to edit by clicking on it
  • Click Manage List in the top right corner
  • Select Add / Remove Friends
  • Click on the name of the person you want to remove

Please note: You can also add people using this method by clicking someone not already on the list.

Updated On:

Nov 27, 2013

How useful was this article?

 

Partmaster

 

Show all services

© DSG Retail Limited 2014. DSG Retail Limited, Maylands Avenue, Hemel Hempstead, HP2 7TG. Registered in England No. 504877, VAT number: 226 6599 33