How do I change the Bandwidth settings? How can I improve web browsing speed while using Knowhow™ Cloud?
You can modify the Bandwidth settings used by Knowhow™ Cloud if you are worried about being capped by your internet provider. To do this:
- Open the Knowhow Control Panel
- Click on the Bandwidth tab
- Find out your connection speed by visiting a speed test website
- Choose your connection speed from the drop-down menu
Set the number of connections to use: - this setting tells Knowhow™ how many threads to use when uploading files
- Set the download and upload bandwidth sliders (these control how much of your total internet connection bandwidth the software uses).
- Re-set the bandwidth sliders to 50% capacity (for downloads) and 90% capacity (for uploads)
- Change the Number of connections to use to 1
- Decrease the sliders further if this action does not speed things up
NB: If your bandwidth sliders are set to 100%, Knowhow™ Cloud will transfer files as quickly as possible, using all of your bandwidth if necessary. If these are reduced (i.e. to 50%) then Knowhow™ Cloud will limit itself, never using up more than 50% of the available bandwidth and leaving the remainder for browsing activities.
Back to top
No - there are not any limits on how much bandwidth you can use each month. Nor are there limits on the speed of your transfers beyond the natural limits of technology - our data centres have super fast connections. Unlike some other providers we don't punish you for making use of our service by throttling your bandwidth just because you store a lot.Back to top
If a file cannot be uploaded, it will be re-queued. This means that the upload will be tried again at a later date.
Make sure you change your backup settings from the Realtime scan to the Scheduled scan. If you use the "Realtime" scan, every time a file is changed, it will be sent to the end of the "due for upload" queue.
To find out how to change your scan settings, read this article on Knowhow Cloud Backup.Back to top
If the file has already been uploaded, it doesn't need to be uploaded again. Your upload will be aborted if the file has already been saved to another location.
Usually, an aborted upload occurs when:
- A folder has been removed from your Backup selection.
- A folder has been moved to a new location
Don't panic if some files are marked as due for deletion - this usually occurs when:
- The Knowhow™ software has been reinstalled
- You have created a parent/sub folder(s)
The cloud will soon recognise that there are duplicate files and folders that exist on our servers. The Knowhow™ Cloud de-duplication technology will identify unnecessary copies and will remove them of its own accord.
New parent / sub folder(s)
If you recently created a Parent/sub-folder(s), the Knowhow™ Cloud will need to reconfigure the way it stores your backed-up files.
As part of this process certain files may be selected for deletion. Your master files won't be deleted; the cloud is simply re-configuring your online backup to match your local files and folders.
- You may also see plenty of files being deleted in the Detailed Status section
- This means that Knowhow™ is removing old files, and recreating them to match your latest changes and settings